The South Australian Oyster Growers Association (SAOGA) seeks to ensure:



Established in 1989 by a group of Eyre Peninsula oyster farmers who saw a growing need to take a collaborative approach towards the management of oyster farming in South Australia , SAOGA initially attracted a formal membership of approximately 40 licence holders. Today, SAOGA’s membership is around 80 – approximately 86% of all oyster licence holders in South Australia.


Food Health

SAOGA has developed a Government approved, 3rd party audited, Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP) based program, to meet regulated food safety requirements.


Occupational Health & Safety

SAOGA has developed an Occupational Health and Safety program to meet regulated occupational health safety requirements.


SAOGA Executive Committee

The committee comprises an elected President, one or two representatives from each ‘Bay’ across the State and an Executive Officer. The committee meets approximately 4 times a year, and when required, to address member’s issues. An Annual General Meeting is usually held in September when Executive Committee positions are re-elected.


SAOGA membership

SAOGA produces a quarterly newsletter containing important information of relevance to growers. The newsletter ensures all growers are aware and up-to-date with industry based issues and initiatives. 

SAOGA holds an annual Seminar at various Bays across the State and an Information Day held in Port Lincoln. Both of which provide a forum for communication between all levels and aspects of the industry.

Membership Fees: Membership fees are calculated per individual lease. Please contact accounts@oysterssa.com.au to discuss your specific requirements.

Associate Membership fees: $100 per year

To become a member of the Association please contact the SAOGA Executive on executiveofficer@oysterssa.com.au

Don’t sit on the fence, be part of the Association that works for YOU!

Scroll to Top